favourite things of the week!

Seeing lots of Valentine’s Day crafts lately. Still a month till Valentine’s Day, but I guess if one plans on crafting to spread some love now is the perfect time to start creating!

These heart barrettes make perfect party favours for a Valentine’s Day party – so bright and lovely and simple to make! I think I’ll make a bunch in yellow and orange and blue and all other colours (and maybe different shapes too), for a little friend’s 4th birthday. I just love how cleverly the barrette is attached to the felt heart.

Tutorial from The Purl Bee.


Also from The Purl Bee are these lovely rose barrettes – I think they’d make nice hair ties or pins too!


I think I’ll definitely make one of these hearts and wear it as a pin on V-Day this year.

Free pattern generously shared by PlanetJune.


On the weekend we caught The Golden Compass on TV. Being the obsessive crafter that I am, I thought the best thing about the movie was Lyra’s knitted hood. (Beside the talking animals – I love any story with talking animals in it :D)

A quick Google search yielded a number of Lyra’s hood-inspired patterns, here are a few:

Lion Brand Yarn (registration required)
Poodle Days and Starry Knits
Froggie Meanie

And then I saw a crochet version of a hood that looks like Lyra’s on A Beautiful Mess, complete with a pom pom!

I love that they’re made with giant (15mm) needles and super bulky yarn – great for keeping one’s ears warm on cold windy days! I’m tempted to make the hood but I already have quite a few wool hats… but we are travelling up north next weekend, so maybe I will make it… hmm.

And finally, a beautiful reminder in the form of awesome book art…


From Today and Tomorrow.


Yes! Create!

Have a lovely evening, everyone!




0 Responses to “favourite things of the week!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

about genuine mudpie

Hello, my name is Trish. I like to make things (particularly with yarn), take photos, drink tea, write haiku's, and collect things like acorns and punny jokes. This is a place where I share my crafty endeavours and things that inspire me. Thank you for visiting! Would love to hear from you - feel free to leave a comment! :D

To read the story of genuine mudpie please see Just wondering...

Enter your email address to subscribe to genuine mudpie and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 13 other followers

genuine mudpie on Flickr

forget me not

mussels dress

metal type stamping

cherry blossoms

More Photos


The Small Is Beautiful Manifesto


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

